Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Children's Art Contest

The Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force sponsored an art contest for children in grades K-6. Children were asked to illustrate the themes of “where do ticks live” or “how to protect yourself from tick bites.” The task force had over 20 entries to the art contest. Winners from each age group were invited to attend the May 18 Commissioners Meeting to accept their awards. Each winner received a certificate and a t-shirt featuring their own design.  

In addition to being used as part of the task force’s educational display, the winning artwork will be displayed at the Office of Community Planning.  

Winners: Alianna Byrnes, Grace Colville, Jackson Davis, Quinn Henderson, Kaiden Moriarty, Jameson Morgan, Liam Pozo, Christopher Rojas and Keegen Vandermark.  

About the TBD Task Force  
The Pike County TBD Task Force is focused on decreasing the number of tick-borne illnesses by building community awareness through education, support, and advocacy. The Task Force offers educational materials to help people prevent tick borne diseases and safely enjoy the great outdoors. Educational materials can be found on www.pikepa.org/tick.   
The Task Force meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 10:00 a.m. in the Commissioners Meeting Room, 506 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337, and via Zoom. New members are welcome.   
For more information on ticks, visit the Task Force website at www.pikepa.org/tick or contact Brian Snyder at bsnyder@pikepa.org or by phone 570-296-3500. 

Photo ID: Front row, left to right: Jameson Morgan and Quinn Henderson. Second Row: Rosemarie Schoepp, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Chair; Kaiden Moriarty; Christopher Rojas; Leah Cameron; Alianna Byrnes. Third Row: Commissioner Matthew Osterberg; Ellen Scarisbrick, Wayne Memorial Community Health Centers; Jackson Davis; Karen Quinlan; Grace Colville. Fourth Row: Brian Snyder, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Vice Chair; Commissioner Ronald Schmalzle; Commissioner Tony Waldron; Michael Mrozinski, Planning Director.