Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Holds "Safe Steps" Children's Art Contest

The Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force announced it will hold its second “Safe Steps” Art Competition. Submissions must illustrate “Where do ticks live” or “How to protect yourself from tick bites.”

Join the task force in this opportunity to help educate your child and their peers about where ticks are found and how to prevent encountering ticks by encouraging your child to participate in this year’s “Safe Steps” art competition.

The art contest is open to children in grades K-6, broken into four groups: grades K, 1-2, 3-4, 5-6. One winner from each group will be chosen.

Entries must be received by April 05, 2023, at 4:30 p.m. Entries can be hand delivered to the Pike County Commissioners Office or mailed to: Pike County Commissioners Office Attn: Pike County TBD Task Force, 506 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337.

Notification of winners will occur via letter by April 19, 2023. Contest winners will be invited to attend the May 3, 2023 Pike County Commissioners Meeting to accept his or her award. All winners will receive a certificate of participation.

Contest guidelines can be found on the Task Force webpage, www.pikepa.org/tick.

About the Task Force

The Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force is focused on decreasing the number of tick-borne illnesses by building community awareness through education, support, and advocacy.

The Task Force offers educational materials to help people prevent tick borne diseases and safely enjoy the great outdoors. Educational materials can be found on www.pikepa.org/tick.  
The Task Force meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 10:00 a.m. in the Commissioners Meeting Room, 506 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337, and via Zoom. New members are welcome to attend.  
For more information on ticks, visit the Task Force website at www.pikepa.org/tick or contact Brian Snyder at bsnyder@pikepa.org or by phone 570-296-3500.

Photo ID: Front row, left to right: Jameson Morgan and Quinn Henderson. Second Row: Rosemarie Schoepp, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Chair; Kaiden Moriarty; Christopher Rojas; Leah Cameron; Alianna Byrnes. Third Row: Commissioner Matthew Osterberg; Ellen Scarisbrick, Wayne Memorial Community Health Centers; Jackson Davis; Karen Quinlan; Grace Colville. Fourth Row: Brian Snyder, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Vice Chair; Commissioner Ronald Schmalzle; Commissioner Tony Waldron; Michael Mrozinski, Planning Director.