Tick Borne Diseases Task Force "Safe Steps" Children's Art Contest Winners Attend Commissioners Meeting to Accept Awards

The Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force held its second annual “Safe Steps” Children’s Art Contest. Children in grades K-6 were asked to illustrate “where do ticks live” or “how to protect yourself from tick bites.”

This year’s winning poster was a joint effort from the students in Miss Cameron’s Resource Room at Shohola Elementary School. Jeremy Holohan, Grace Colville, Keegen Vandermark, Liam Pozo, Peyton Fisher, Jackson Davis, Jeffrey Berger, Victoria Benyovszki, Alianna Byrnes, Christopher Rojas, and Joey Sala all collaborated to create the winning poster.

Tick Art Contest Winning Submission 2023

The contest winners attended the May 3, 2023 Commissioners Meeting to accept their award. Each winner received a participation certificate, as well as a t-shirt featuring their winning design!

“The Task Force enjoys holding the ‘Safe Steps’ Art Contest. It is a fun and educational way to inform children about tick safety and prevention,” said Rosemarie Schoepp, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Chair.

In addition to the winning submission being incorporated into the Task Force’s educational materials, the poster will be displayed in the Pike County Commissioners Office located at 506 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337.

Thank you to Wayne Memorial Hospital for sponsoring the art contest.

About the Task Force

The Pike County Tick Borne Diseases Task Force is focused on decreasing the number of tick-borne illnesses by building community awareness through education, support, and advocacy.

The Task Force offers educational material to help prevent tick borne diseases and safely enjoy the great outdoors. Educational materials can be found on www.pikepa.org/tick.

The Task Force meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 10:00 a.m. in the Commissioners Meeting Room, 506 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337, and via Zoom. New members are welcome to attend. 

For more information on ticks, visit the Task Force website at www.pikepa.org/tick.

Photo ID: Miss Cameron’s Resource Room students and staff; Pike County Commissioners Matthew Osterberg, Ronald Schmalzle and Tony Waldron; Carol Kneier, Wayne Memorial Hospital Representative; Rosemarie Schoepp, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Chair; and Brian Snyder, Tick Borne Diseases Task Force Vice Chair.